Copy Cups – Waldo Pancake’s brilliant copywriting for Puccino’s Coffee Shop

Right then, time to dust the cobwebs off this here blog again!

I’ve got a post brewing about my latest uni project (All about tax, so that’s one to get excited about!) But in the meantime I thought I’d mention some brilliant copywriting that Smith & Milton introduced me to on my latest placement.

Jim Smith, or Waldo Pancake, as he has become known has been working for Puccino’s Coffee Shops since 1998 creating some of the funniest packaging I’ve ever read. I’d mistakenly believed that copy with personality had been a very recent phenomenon, with Innocent leading the trend, but instead it seems as though the best stuff has been around long before this current popularisation.

I’m a bit in awe of great copywriters, it’s a skill I really want to have and I think getting just the right tone and level of common knowledge is a really difficult knack to master.  Jim’s work is clever enough to make you laugh, but is also easy enough for you to engage with and doesn’t leave you feeling as though you haven’t quite ‘got’ the joke.

Waldo Pancake, Puccino Coffee Cups Copy

Waldo Pancake, Puccino Biscuit Copy

Waldo Pancake, Puccino Coffee Cups Copy

Waldo Pancake, Puccino Coffee Cups Copy

Waldo Pancake, Puccino Sugar Copy

Waldo Pancake, Puccino Sugar Copy

Jim Smith, copy, water, puccino

A full collection can be seen on his Flikr set here.

Leave a Reply

