9 thoughts on “Dots, Spots & Particles – The Latest Trend in Logo Design?

  1. I wouldn’t say dots were a new trend in design. Long before the Johnson Banks St Davids logo was designed, there was Sagmeisters logo for Seed Media Group, thats a great dot logo! http://www.sagmeister.com/taxonomy/term/18#/node/184

    You do make a good point that there have been a lot of high profile branding projects that are using dots recently, hadn’t noticed myself.

    Also, the Hayes Apartments logo probably uses dots because its actually situated on top of the St Davids Centre in Cardiff!

    1. The Seed Media Group logo is a great one and I toyed with it but I was trying to pick the ones that were diverging or grouping! I suppose the first is a little unrelated it was just the thought that triggered the whole process off!
      But yes ‘new’ was the wrong choice! More ’emerging trend’ or something along those lines!
      The Hayes one makes a lot of sense now! Thank you!

  2. Hi Maisie,

    Thanks for featuring our Cambrook project. I’m sad to hear you found it uninspiring, so thought I might try and win you over by explaining the thinking behind the idea!

    Cambrook want to be famous for their ‘amazing glaze’ which shines out alongside other nuts in the UK market place which tend to be rather dull – hence ‘brilliantly caramelised’. As you mentioned previously, the other examples you refer to are based on the idea of coming together, whereas the Cambrook identity was inspired by the idea of putting their name in lights. The dots that make up the ‘C’ represent individual nuts sparkling, in a similar way to sequin signs you might find adorning the front of a west-end theatre or the back drop of a Beyoncé video. All of which hopefully brings some glamour to the normally worthy nuts aisle.

    And that’s it – in a nutshell!
    I hope that helps – keep up the good work : )
    GB

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to give me an insight into your process!
      I’m really sorry if it came across as though I was insulting it, I didn’t mean it to be as harsh as it may have come across! I think a brand (or an identity) is made from a lot more than just a logo and it was a bit unfair of me not taking more of a holistic view. I think that background brings a lot more to the logo and brand story – it’s definitely a change from the average nut packaging design!
      When I was browsing your website I really liked your ‘Just Advice’ solution and the way you used ‘just’ as a way to both show the versatility of their service and give them consistency at the same time. I very nearly swapped topics to write a positive review of that so I’m very sorry now that I didn’t!

      Thanks again,
      Maisie

  3. Hey there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks
    for sharing!

Leave a Reply

