Daihatsu takes on Lamborghini – Comparing brands in adverts.

Comparing your product to other brands in an advert isn’t something I’d generally recommend. I’ve seen a lot of examples when this has completely backfired resulting in the company actually sabotaging their own product by either coming off looking worse or just appearing bitter (such as the Sun’s attempt to parody The Economist in my post yesterday.)

There are very few exceptions to this. One of them being the Avis campaign arguing that it was better to go with second best (talked about here) and another being the advert below for Daihatsu.

It’s difficult to ascertain which company did this advert as Daihatsu seem to be in the habit of swapping agencies but I think it was the work of Banks Hoggins O’Shea or an agency called Creative but I can’t confirm either sadly.

I think the reason these (and there will be others like it) are successful is because they aren’t mimicking their competitor’s adverts but simply using another brand to illustrate a completely new idea. Both of these two examples take a seemingly negative aspect of the product and cleverly or humorously twist it in their favour.

By doing this advert it makes the brand appear witty and not to take itself too seriously so when anyone chooses to buy a Daihatsu they are buying into these qualities and in a sense, applying these attributes to themselves.

I’m sure some people will disagree with me but I like the tongue-in-cheek nature of this advert. However I would caution anyone intending to go down this avenue that it really isn’t easy to get the balance right and for it to work in your favour.

One thought on “Daihatsu takes on Lamborghini – Comparing brands in adverts.

  1. Aw, this was a really nice post. Finding the time and
    actual effort to make a really good article… but what can
    I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

Leave a Reply

